Well, we do have a magnificent grapefruit tree out back.grapefruit_9feb09_small2 The trouble is, it’s too prolific, and I really do not like grapefruit! However, besides donating them to the nearest Food Bank, I’ve hit upon a way to start to actually use all of these fruit: make grapefruit marmalade!!! So far, I’ve made 3 1/2 pint jars, and have nearly finished all of them in last than 3 weeks. I’ll be canning some more tomorrow. Depending on how it goes, I may post the recipe.  My previous batch was a bit too runny. This time, I’m using half the water (but twice the fruit in a double recipe). I’ll be using 1/2 the sugar, too, since I love the taste.  It’s a matter of whether or not it’ll “gel” without pectin.  If not, I may actually try some Pomona pectin, and see if it turns out with a thick enough consistency.

